Using Redbooth From basics to advanced, and everything in between.

Task Management

A key part of collaborating in Redbooth is task management. A task is a transparent way for you and your colleagues to see what work needs to be done, by whom, and when. You can quickly give each task an assignee, a start and due date, and even attach files.

Task Management and Basics
Once you have gotten started in Redbooth and added your members, you need to start collaborating. A task is how your colleagues will know what work is expected of them, and is a great way of exchanging ideas while completing a larger project.

Create a Task
There are a few different ways in which you can create a task in Redbooth. The quickest way is by clicking on the quick create button in the top right. A small pop-up window will appear. You can then add in the necessary information. You can also choose to make it a public or private task by clicking the followers drop-down.

Alternatively, you can quickly create a task within a workspace. Just click on Add a task at the top of a task list and type. You can later enter the task and edit it as required.

Multiple Assignees and Assigning Tasks
You can also choose to assign the task to one or multiple assignees by clicking on Assign the task. You can enter the name of the member you would like to assign to, or choose from the dropdown list. You can add as many assignees as you like, although the first assignee in the list will appear in the avatar. You can drag and drop the assignees within the task to change the order.

You will see the avatar of the first assignee in the task list, with a smaller green icon representing other assignees. Hover over it to see the full list of assignees. If you are one of the assignees, the task will be marked as yellow, just like single assignee tasks.

Copy a Task
You can easily copy a task in Redbooth. Just click on the drop-down arrow in top right of the task and select copy. A new window will pop up:

Task Management

Only subtasks and the description will be copied over, with resolved subtasks automatically being unresolved in the new task. You can choose which organization (if you are a Business user with multiple organizations), workspace, and task list you would like it to be copied to. You can also edit the name of the task.

Start and Due Dates
You can add both start and due dates to all tasks. By doing so, you have created a task duration. You can always edit the dates or entire duration of the task later. Just click on the start date and then on the due date. If you only select one date, this will automatically be defined as both the start and the due date. You will see the task duration on the right of the dates. Note that weekends are not included in the duration.

Order Tasks
There are three ways to order the task list to better manage tasks.

  1. Shared team view
    This way you can order tasks by dragging and dropping them into place. Just click on a task and hold it while you drag it to its desired position.
  2. Sort by due date
    By selecting this option you won’t be able to drag and drop tasks. Instead, the system will order your tasks by their due dates, urgency, and then overdue and unassigned.
  3. Sort by assignee
    This option will order tasks in its task lists by assignee in an alphabetical order. You cannot drag and drop with this selected. Tasks that have multiple assignees are ordered by the first assignee in the list.

Comment on a Task
Commenting on a task is very easy, and comments are displayed with the most recent at the top. The comments box comes with a number of formatting options, including emojis. Redbooth uses Markdown as the language to write comments. To access the cheatsheet where you can learn how to format your comments, enter a task a click on the A button to the right of your comment box.

You can discover more emojis to use here.

Bulk Edit Tasks
Bulk editing many tasks at once saves time. Hold down the Shift key, and click on the ones you want to edit. The selected tasks will be highlighted blue. A new menu will appear under the top navigation menu.

These are the actions you can take when bulk editing:

  • Assign.
  • Set due date.
  • Delete.
  • Move to a different workspace or task list.
  • Drag and drop to reorder within the same task list.

To exit bulk edit mode, just click on any of your tasks.

Delete a Task
A task can only be deleted by organization admins or the person who created it. To delete a task, follow the easy steps below:

  1. Open a task.
  2. Click on the down arrow next to the watchers menu.
  3. Click the Delete button.
  4. Click OK to confirm.

A deleted task cannot be recovered, so be sure you are ready to delete it.

Resolve a Task
Alternatively, you may want to resolve a task once it has been completed. To resolve a task, just click on the empty box next to a task’s title. This can be done from the task list view or within the task itself.

Resolved tasks can be found at the bottom of a task list under Show completed tasks. Click on this and the list will expand to display your resolved tasks. Resolved tasks can also be retrieved in search. You can unresolve a task by clicking on the ticked box, this will send it back to its previous location.

Tasks in Timeline
Why not learn how to use them in Timeline view? This provides a great overview of the duration and composition of all the tasks and task lists within your workspace. Tasks in Timeline are color coded to indicate various task statuses, allowing you to visualize the progress of your projects at a glance.